Blackpool talisman Jerry Yates closing in on Andy Morrell's long-standing goal record

Jerry Yates is now just four goals away from becoming the first Blackpool player to score 20 in a season for 14 years.

Thursday, 25th March 2021, 9:00 am

Read More

Read More
Blackpool talisman Jerry Yates 'attracting interest' from Championship trio Nott...

The 24-year-old’s brace against Peterborough United on Tuesday night means the striker now has 16 goals for the season from his 40 games in all competitions.

Fourteen of those 16 goals have come in the league, with the other two being scored in the FA Cup.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Yates’ goal tally is all the more impressive given the summer signing from Rotherham United failed to score in his first 11 games this season.

Armand Gnanduillet probably would have gone on to score 20 goals last season, but the striker was denied that chance when the season was curtailed early.

Instead, he ended the campaign with 18 goals from 36 games before going on to leave the club at the end of the season.

Prior to that, the last Blackpool player to score 16 or more was Tom Ince in the 2012/13 season, when the goalscoring winger netted 18 as the Seasiders finished 15th in the Championship.

Jerry Yates now has 20 goals in his sights

Kevin Phillips netted 17 goals in the previous season to help Blackpool to the Championship play-off final.

Yates is also not far off Charlie Adam's 19-goal haul during the 2009/10 promotion winning season.

The last player to hit 20 goals in a campaign for the Seasiders was Andy Morrell, when the striker helped Blackpool clinch promotion from the third tier during the 2006/07 season.

John Murphy scored 23 in 2000/01, while Scott Taylor notched an impressive 27 in 2003/04.

Yates, who has 12 games remaining to add to his tally, scored 14 goals in 36 games on loan in League Two last season with Swindon Town.

Blackpool's top scorers this millennium:

2000/01 - John Murphy, 23

2001/02 - John Murphy and Brett Ormerod, both 20

2002/03 - John Murphy, 19

2003/04 - Scott Taylor, 27

2004/05 - Scott Taylor, 14

2005/06 - Keigan Parker, 12

2006/07 - Andy Morrell, 20

2007/08 - Ben Burgess, 10

2008/09 - DJ Campbell, 9

2009/10 - Charlie Adam, 19

2010/11 - Charlie Adam & DJ Campbell, both 13

2011/12 - Kevin Phillips, 17

2012/13 - Tom Ince, 18

2013/14 - Tom Ince, 7

2014/15 - Steve Davies, 5

2015/16 - Mark Cullen, 9

2016/17 - Mark Cullen, Brad Potts & Kyle Vassell, all 13

2017/18 - Kyle Vassell, 11

2018/19 - Armand Gnanduillet, 14

2019/20 - Armand Gnanduillet, 18 (season curtailed early)

2020/21 - Jerry Yates 16*

Thanks for reading. If you value what we do and are able to support us, a digital subscription is just £1 for your first month. Try us today by clicking here