Ladies first at St Annes Old Links

St Annes Old Links continues to stage some superb ladies' competitions as it builds up to hosting final qualifying for the Ricoh Women's British Open at the end of the month.

Thursday, 19th July 2018, 5:26 pm
Updated Thursday, 19th July 2018, 5:32 pm
Sandy Beech accepts the Captain's Prize from Jackie Halstead at St Annes Old Links.

Taking centre stage was the Lady Captain’s Final, in which 24 qualifiers played two rounds, one on Sunday and the second on Tuesday.

The fine weather prevailed, although Tuesday was cloudier, with a strong north westerly wind in the afternoon.

Sandy Beech claimed the Lady Captain’s Prize with a nett score of 142.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Anne Williams led after the first day and took second place overall with a nett score of 143.

The best gross prize went to Chris Appleby with 158. A policy of allowing only one award per person meant the best first day prize went to Lynn Park with a nett 72, while Hazel Preston with a nett 69 took the prize for day two. There were twos for Tina Aykroyd, Beverley Hanley and Pat Vickers.

Anna Dobson won the Non-Qualifiers Competition with a nett 73 despite a 10 on the 18th.

There were twos for Gillian Barnes and Lynne McCalliog.

Anne Vessey was the winner of the 9 Hole Competition with 19 points.

Lady Captain Jackie Halstead hosted a splendid halfway house to refresh the ladies before the presentation dinner.

St Annes Old Links is the first club in R&A’s history to host final qualifying events for both The Open and the Ricoh Women’s British Open in the same year.

Women’s final qualifying takes place on July 30, when admission will be free.

Royal Lytham and St Annes will stage th Ricoh Women’s British Open from Aug 1-3.

St Annes Old Links' handicap team played away at Leyland and won by three and a half to one and a half.

There were wins for Pat Vickers, Jackie Halstead and Sandy Beech, with Tina Aykroyd halving her match.

The 40th staging of the Fylde Amateur Championship is to be held at Fleetwood Golf Club on Friday August 17 and entries are now welcome.

The event is open to members of all Fylde Scratch League clubs playing off a handicap of nine or better.

To celebrate this special anniversary, the tournament will be followed by a presentation meal which is free for all competitors. All past winners of the event, which was first staged in 1979, are to be invited to the dinner.

To enter, texting your name, handicap and club details to 07812176790 or enter via Facebook at

Entries will close on Friday, August 10 or when the maximum field of 60 is reached.

It was Presidents weekend at Knott End Golf Club, with the weather holding for long enough to allow all the competitions to be played in brilliant sunshine.

President Mrs Anne Hughes provided refreshments at the start of each competition.

Alex Gardner burned up the course with a sensational score of Nett 58 in the Ladies’ competition, then on Sunday was part of the winning team in the Presidents mixed .

Alex is a newcomer to golf and is pictured receiving her prize from Anne Hughes.

Another newcomer to the club is Justin Hatcher, who won the Gentlemen’s competition on Saturday.

President’s Prize to the Gentlemen results: 1. J Hatcher 37 + 33 = 70 - 6 = 64 ocpo; 2. G Pollard 46+42 = 88 - 24 = 64; 3. P Braddick 46 + 44 = 90 - 26 = 64;m Best Gross L Walker 67

President’s Prize to the Ladies: 1. A. Gardner 86-28=58; 2. J Wright 91-25=66, 3. E.Parry 99-31=68; Best Gross K Wright 84; Nearest the pin 8th hole E.Parry; Nearest the pin 11th K.Coleman

President’s Mixed: 1.Mr & Mrs Cookson, Miss A.Gardner & Mr.B.Gardner 41+39=80; 2. Mr& Mrs T Molloy & Mr & Mrs D.Tugwell 40+37=77; 3.Mr P Braddick & Mrs E Chambers, Mr G Kitt & Mrs I Morris 37+39=76