Fleetwood Town annual awards short-list revealed

Fleetwood Town forward Bobby Grant dominates the club's 2015/16 goal of the season list as four of his stunning strikes are contenders for the gong.

Tuesday, 17th May 2016, 2:30 pm
Updated Tuesday, 17th May 2016, 3:36 pm
Bobby Grant celebrates his vital goal against Crewe
Bobby Grant celebrates his vital goal against Crewe

Grant has been nominated for his left-footed beauty in the 2-0 final day win over Crewe that helped Town maintain their League One status.

His curling effort in the 5-1 home demolition of Swindon Town and the Liverpudlian’s solo strike against Port Vale at Highbury are also in the running.

Grant’s thunderous effort in the 2-2 draw at Southend is his final nomination as the club unveiled their top 10 short-list.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Ash Hunter’s header in the 2-2 Highbury draw with Sheffield United and his lob against Scunthorpe United are also up for goal of the season.

As are David Ball’s right-footed screamer at Coventry and Eggert Jonsson’s half volley at Colchester United.

Midfielder Jimmy Ryan is also in the running thanks to a goal against Colchester, his long distance rocket at home and Dec McManus’ strike on the opening day of the season in the 1-1 draw with Southend United are the final contenders.

The club is also urging fans to vote for their player of the year and young player of the year.

Departing keeper Chris Maxwell is joining Preston North End on a free transfer on July 1 and the 2014/15 player of the year winner is nominated once again.

Right-back Conor McLaughlin is currently on a pre-Euro 16 training camp with the Northern Ireland squad and he is also up for the player of the year prize.

His fellow full-back Amari’i Bell and defender Nathan Pond, who broke club legend Jack Ainscough’s all-time appearance record by making his 422nd appearance for the club in the 3-1 defeat at Walsall, are also in the running.

Midfield trio Jonsson, Ryan, and Antoni Sarcevic have also been nominated as have forwards Ball and Grant.

It is a four man race for the young player of the season award with Bell, Hunter, Nick Haughton and Tyler Forbes all short-listed.

Supporters have until 12pm on Friday May 20 to vote. To register your vote please click here