EFL reveal three of Blackpool's Championship rivals have been hit with a transfer embargo

Three Championship clubs are under transfer embargoes imposed by the EFL.

Thursday, 8th July 2021, 2:40 pm
Updated Thursday, 8th July 2021, 2:42 pm

Read More

Read More
'It's a strange new world we're living in': Matt Scrafton's Euro 2020 verdict as...

The trio, Derby County, Hull City and Reading, are among eight clubs in the EFL who have restrictions on them.

Fleetwood Town and Gillingham from League One, together with Oldham Athletic, Scunthorpe United and Swindon Town, are the others.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The embargoes are in place for varying reasons, with the EFL publishing the identities of the clubs 'In the interests of transparency and in line with the principles of good governance'.

Derby are under an embargo for five reasons: failure to provide audited annual accounts, annual accounts not filed with Companies House, default in payments to HMRC, default in paying transfer fee instalment and non-submission of audited accounts.

The embargo on newly-promoted Hull, who PNE face at Deepdale on the opening day of the season, is due to 'conditions under monitored loan agreement'.

It relates to a loan the Tigers took out with the EFL to help them get through the Covid-19 pandemic.

Derby County are among the sides to be hit with a transfer embargo

Reading's embargo is for a breach of profit and sustainability rules.

The clubs under the EFL embargo can still sign players on free transfers and loans so that they have 23 players of professional standing in their squads.

Clubs cannot pay fees to acquire loan players and cannot pay additional wages on top of the salary the player receives at their parent club

Thanks for reading. If you value what we do and are able to support us, a digital subscription is just £1 for your first month. Try us today by clicking here