Candidates announced for election

The candidates have been announced for the upcoming Fylde Council Lytham St John’s by-election.

By David Sharman
Friday, 14th March 2014, 8:16 am
Colin Harper and Kath Harper
Colin Harper and Kath Harper

They are: Mark Elliott Bamforth (Fylde Ratepayers), from Warton Street, Lytham; Brenda Blackshaw (Conservative Party), from Clifton Street, Lytham; Bob Dennett (Green Party Stop Fracking Now), from Gordon Road, Ansdell; Carol Josephine Gilligan (Liberal Democrats), Division Lane, Marton; and Timothy Davies Wood (UK Independence Party), from West Cliffe, Lytham.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The by-election, which will take place on March 27, was triggered by the death of Coun Kath Harper.

Coun Harper was deputy mayor at the time of her death in November and her seat has been vacant ever since.

Voting for those within the constituency will take place between 7am and 10pm on the day.