Nocturnes is pop diva Victoria’s second coming

Little Boots, aka Victoria Hesketh
Little Boots, aka Victoria Hesketh
Have your say

BLACKPOOL’S finest pop diva is back - and Little Boots, aka Poulton’s Victoria Hesketh, can’t wait for fans to hear her second album.

The long-awaited follow up to smash-hit debut Hands is called Nocturnes and is released on May 7.

A song from the record, called Motorway, is available to downloads from Victoria’s website

If the track is an indication of how the album is going to sound, then Nocturnes is going to be dancey and then some.

Hesketh, who used to work at The Gazette before leaving to go to university and pursue a career in music, was lauded by the critics when she burst onto the scene.

She was named the BBC’S Sound of 2009 and made a stunning appearance on Later With Jools Holland.

When her album was released, she played a sell-out gig at HMV in Blackpool and the record duly went Top 10 in the album charts. It also spurned the hit singles New In Town, Meddle, Earthquake and Stuck On Repeat.

Hesketh toured the world and also got into the club scene, Djing in various super clubs across the planet. But what her fans have been waiting for is a second album and finally - almost four years after her debut - it has arrived.

It is a case of good things come to those who wait, and Hesketh hopes her fans will like it.

“The album is definitely different from the first one but I think the fans will still love it,” she said. “It’s still very melodic and danceable and is pop at its heart.

“I worked with a super talented producer called Tim Goldsworthy (DFA, Hercules & Love Affair, The Maccabees). We produced the whole record in Bristol this year and I’m very proud of it.

“Sonically it’s still electronic but draws a lot more influences from early house music and classic disco.

“It’s a bit frustrating that it took me longer than I would like. But after having such a crazy start with the first album by the time I got back home from tour it was difficult to sit down and write at first. There was a lot to take in and come down from.

“But now I’ve finished I’m so happy with how it sounds and I know if I had rushed it then it wouldn’t be as good. There’s a lot of pressure in the industry to rush things through these days and I think creatively I just needed to take my time.”

The tracklist for the new Little Boots album is: Motorway, Confusion, Broken Record, Shake, Beat Beat, Every Night I Say A Prayer, Crescendo, Strangers, All For You, Satellite.

“Nocturnes is a powerful record of irresistible hooks and stunning songwriting that celebrates 90s house, 70s disco and futuristic electronics while maintaining the magic of classic pop,” says the press release accompanying news of the new album.

“DJing all over the world at many of clubland’s most esteemed nights over the past few years and collaborating with an elite roll-call of dance music’s most credible class, Victoria named the record Nocturnes because it is an album indebted to the night.”

One track to watch out for in particular is Confusion, which was penned in the Hollywood hills with Jeppe Laursen, the man behind Lady Gaga’s Born This Way.

n Nocturnes is in the shops on May 7.