Currying flavour with MPs

Azizul Choudhury and Fylde MP Mark Menzies, at the Bilash restaurant in St Annes.
Azizul Choudhury and Fylde MP Mark Menzies, at the Bilash restaurant in St Annes.
Have your say

A Fylde restaurant has been named the best restaurant in the North West in a Parliamentary competition to find the premier South Asian eaterie in the country.

Bilash Balti, on St Andrew’s Road South, St Annes, has been shortlisted among the final 12 restaurants in this year’s Tiffin Cup 2013.

The competition is held each year by the House of Commons’ Tiffin Club with local MPs nominating one establishment from within their constituency to represent the local area.

Fylde MP Mark Menzies put forward Bilash Balti for this year’s contest – one of 86 different restaurants nominated by members – and was delighted when he was informed the popular dining spot run by Azizul Choudhury had made it through to the prestigious final.

The Grand Final will be held in the House of Commons on Tuesday, where a Bilash Balti chef will be asked to whip up a meal alongside his competitors before the final votes are counted.

Mr Menzies said: “I have had some fantastic meals at Bilash Balti since becoming the Member of Parliament for Fylde and I know the owner Mr Choudhury takes great pride in his restaurant.

“This achievement is not only testament to his hard work and dedication but also that of his staff.

“I have nominated Fylde restaurants for this award every year but have never had one win the regional place in the final before.

“To beat some of the top restaurants in the North West’s major towns and cities is an achievement in itself but I’m keeping my fingers crossed Bilash Balti can go all the way in the final. I’ll certainly be there cheering them on.”

The Grand Final will consist of a cook-off in the afternoon with the winners announced in the House of Commons that evening by a panel including chairman of the judges TV chef Ainsley Harriet and vice chairman Eastenders actress Nina Wadia.

Tiffin Club chairman Keith Vaz MP added: “We wish them the best luck for the final.”