Two new conservation areas have been created in Blackpool as part of stronger moves to protect the resort’s heritage.
Foxhall village and Raikes Hall have both now been formally given the special status after the neighbourhoods were picked out for their historic interest.
In addition, the existing town centre conservation area has been extended to include more of Blackpool’s sigificant buildings including the Tower and Winter Gardens.
It brings the total number of conservation areas in the town to four, the other being Stanley Park.
Conservation area status gives the council more control over minor development and demolition of buildings.
Coun Christine Wright, cabinet member for culture and heritage on Blackpool Council, said; “In the past we have lost some fantastic buildings, replaced by concrete jungles, and that’s something which has happened all over, not just here.
“So having these conservation areas will help protect more of our heritage. We also think it will give people a sense of pride, knowing they live somewhere special.
“But it is not a case of trying to stop any development. This move means we can work more closely with people to make sure we get the right schemes for these important areas.”
Foxhall was the first part of the town to offer holiday accommodation for the working classes, while Raikes boasts two of Blackpool’s oldest buildings.
The Raikes conservation area is bounded by Leamington Road, Bryan Road, Raikes Parade, Beech Avenue, Forest Gate and the east end of Reads Avenue.
The area is distinctive for its inter-war housing, but also boasts two of the oldest buildings of Blackpool’s central area – the late 18th century Raikes Hall which is now the Raikes Pub, and the Number Three pub (now called The Crown).
Up until 1901, extensive gardens covered the area including fountains and terraces.
The Foxhall conservation area will encompass properties between Chapel Street, Coop Street, Caroline Street, Princess Street, and Dale Street.
This tight grid of streets developed over a 50-year period beginning in the 1860s to provide affordable holiday accommodation for working people, sparked by the opening of Central Station in 1862 and Central Pier in 1868.
The Promenade, Adelaide Street, Springfield Road and Topping Street/southern end of Dickson Road represent new boundaries for the revised town centre conservation area. The council is currently consulting on its new heritage strategy.