Wesham's Danson finishes second in Salford

Wesham's Rob Danson placed second in Good Friday's prestigious Salford 10K as he finished just 12 seconds behind the winner.

Friday, 21st April 2017, 3:00 pm
Updated Tuesday, 9th May 2017, 6:39 pm
Steven Gore in the Curlys Trail race on Wednesday evening
Steven Gore in the Curlys Trail race on Wednesday evening

Danson ran a PB time of 31:01 for the largely flat, two-lap course around Lower Kersal, heading a group of chasers in a close finish.

David Taylor finished 63rd with 35:35, Lee Barlow was 90th in 37:00, while Helen Lawrenson was 193rd in 42:00.

Paul Gregory was the first Wesham finisher in the Good Friday Caldervale 10 mile race, clocking a time of 1:04.43 for sixth place.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Steve Myerscough was 11th in 1:08.19, Jason Blagden 28th in 1:13.27, Jenn Salt 77th in 1:23.40, Chris Moss 110th with 1:32.08, Diane Blagden 129th in 1:38.38 and John Howorth 133rd in 1:39.15.

Easter Sunday saw the Valiants Half Marathon.

David Taylor finished third in 1:19.51, ahead of Steve Myerscough (ninth, 1:25.06) and Paul Gregory (11th, 1:25.52) as Wesham’s men won the team prize.

Alan Hudson was 27th in 1:35.09, leading in Michael Rawcliffe (43rd, 1:43.38), Sean Murray (47th, 1:44.35), Debbie Myerscough (76th, 1:56.15) and Paul Carter (94th, 2:11.57).

Kath Hoyer ran the Air Products 10K in Crewe on Sunday, finishing 155th in 46:55, while Dave Waywell was 257th in 55:14.

In the third Curlys Trail 5K, Steve Myerscough finished 10th in 20:51.

Steven Gore was 13th with 21:19, leading in Martin Bates (36th, 24:18), Paul Eccles (57th, 27:25), Graham Brook (61st, 28:02) and Vicky Gore (75th, 29:26).

Pauline Eccleston (30:16) was next home ahead of Debbie Myerscough (30:42), Caz Wadsworth (31:45), Nicola Ball (32:49) and Clive Berry (33:57).

There was a big Wesham group at the Lytham Hall parkrun on Saturday.

Carl Groome headed the finishers with 19:38, leading in Phil Leaver (25:00), Fran Hodskinson (25:26), Ryan Azzopardi (25:29), Sharon Cooper (25:30), David Taylor (25:31), George Helme (26:26), Mark Dobson (26:51), James Danson (27:20), Graham Cunliffe (27:45), Kay Twist (28:38), Stephen Twist (28:51), Sophie Battersby (28:50), Jayne Hurst (28:59), Julie Rooney (28:59), Claire Jones (29:00), Emma Davies (29:38), Kerry Eccles (31;12), Kellie Helme (31:36), Grace Hall (33:00), Colleen Wright (33:04), Debbie Bell (33:05), Abi Stones (33:29), Stuart Topping (33:30), Sally Sevens (33:46), Sue Rigby (35:50), Heidi Hall (38:17), Lauren Butters (43:10), Caz Wadsworth (43:13), Donna Alexander (43:14), Sarah Hobson (43:14) and Helen Leach (48:25).

At Preston, Nigel Shepherd ran 20:38, John Bertenshaw 21:42, Tracey Hulme 23:42 and Robert Brown 25:05.

Vicky Gore (26:46), Megan Gore (34:00) and Steven Gore (34:01) ran at South Shields, while at Blackpool, Wesham’s James Mulvany ran the fastest time of 17:01.

Steve Waterhouse was third with 17:53, ahead of Mark Renshall (20:49), Nicola Unsworth (21:41, George Kennedy (22:27, Stephen Browne (23:53), Ben Wrigley (24:35), Chris Pike (24:58), Dave Young (25:07), Rob Wallace (25:52) and Peter Cooke (27:43).