Waterloo bowls final decider

Finals day at The Waterloo
Finals day at The Waterloo
Share this article
Have your say

The stage was set for a new name to be inscribed on the Waterloo crown green bowling roll of honour on Wednesday afternoon

The historic Waterloo tournament reached the last eight stage today, playing down to a winner - none of the octet vying for honours had ever won the famous South Shore classic before.

The last remaining Blackpool interest fell by the wayside when North Lancashire and Fylde bowler Mel Byron lost at the last 16 stage.

Byron, who plays for the Raikes and the Park Club, Cleveleys, lost to Andy Buckley 21-19.

Another last 16 casualty was two-times winner Simon Coupe - he led 14-7 at one stage against Jason Jones, but Coupe eventually went down 21-18.

It was the first Waterloo finals days since the departure of former long-time bowls manager Jim Parker.

One of the new organising team at the Waterloo Ricky Cochrane said of this year’s event: “It would not have got off the ground without the hard work of a lot of people.”

Last 32 results: Jason Jones (Abergele) 21, Chris Brown (Sheffield) 18: Simon Coupe (Preston) 21, Lee Casey (Blackpool) 14; Andy Thornton (Barrow) 21 Mike Tunstall (Liverpool) 9; Jimmy Derby (Radcliffe) 21 Paul Heap (Oldham) 17; Ian Nicholson (Kendal) 21 Darren Williams (Widnes) 12; Barry Booth (Stoke) 21, Matt O’Neill (Manchester) 18; Andy Buckley (Oldham) 21 James Seville (Moseley) 20; Mel Byron (Blackpool) 21 Francis Penlington (Chester) 12; Peter Williams (West Bromwich) 21 Tim Houghton (Garstang) 14; John Lloyd (Heswall) 21 Josh Mordue (Brighouse) 19; Craig Gant (Huddersfield) 21, Geoff Hilton (Park Fold) 13; John Kennish (Isle Of Man) 21, Stuart Mort (Wigan) 20; Thomas Lowndes (Ellesmere Port) 21, Glen Beeley (Houldsworth) 19.

Last 16: Jones 21, Coupe 18; Derby 21, Thornton 13; Nicholson 21, Booth 16; Buckley 21, Byron 19; Williams 21, Lloyd 13; Kennish 21, Gant `14; Lowndes 21, Britton 15; Ditchfield 21, Moxham 14.

Quarter-final draw: Jones v Derby; Nicholson v Buckley; Williams v Kennish: Lowndes v Ditchfield.