Second straight success for Danson

Wesham's Rob Danson repeated his 2015 win in the Palma Half Marathon last week with an improvement of one minute and 18 seconds to hit the top slot again this year with a time of 1:11:05, more than a minute clear of second place.

Friday, 28th October 2016, 6:00 pm
Updated Monday, 31st October 2016, 9:55 am
Lee Barlow and Paul Gregory compete at the Fairclough five-mile event

With a fast first 10K of 32:56 and 5K splits of 16:15 and 16:41 he eased off slightly in the heat of the second half through the town with 34:11 to 20K but kept the pressure on right to the finish line.

Preston’s popular Gary Pennington was sixth in 1:15.18.

Troy Watson was the second Wesham finisher in 1:31.55 for 119th place, ending as 18th M45 with 10K splits of 42:39 and 44:07.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Nicola Unsworth was 369th and seventh W45 in 1:42.07 for the 13.1 miles.

Helen Lawrenson ran the 10K, where she finished 134th and third W45 in 46:19, ahead of Stephen Browne (165th, 47:53).

Nigel Shepherd (48:45) was 197th and 10th M55, while Kerry Eccles (51:52) was 313th and eighth W50.

Wesham had a good showing in the Fairclough five-mile race on Sunday morning.

Jason Barlow was the first Wesham runner to finish in eighth with a time of 30:09.

Brother Lee was 15th in 30:56, winning a close race with clubmate Paul Gregory (17th, 31:03).

The Wesham men won the male team category.

Peter Cruse finished in 32:21 for 24th place, ahead of Nigel Shepherd, who was 32nd in 34:09, while Alan Hudson was 35th.

Martin Bates was 40th in 34:59, just ahead of Nicola Unsworth who finished in 35:15, while Kath Hoyer was 15th woman and 62nd overall in 39:05.

Michaela Dempsey was 17th woman with a time of 39:24.

Also competing were: Kerry Eccles (76th, 41:38); Tanya Barlow (84th, 43:17); Debbie Myerscough (102nd, 46:59); Chris Moss (51st, 37:29); Ben Wrigley (63rd, 39:11); Phil Leaver (68th, 39:31); Alan Taylor (71st, 39:49); Dave Young (74th, 40:59); Dave Waywell (42:02); Finlay McCalman (79th, 42:05); Paul Carter (83rd, 42:59); John Howorth (97th, 45:27); and George Flanagan (122nd, 56:29).

Kath Hoyer finished 16th woman in the Standish Hall Trail Run near Wigan on Saturday. She won the W55 category with a time of 53:49.

Wesham undertook a club takeover at the Lytham Hall parkrun with 26 runners and 20 helpers.

Rob Danson ran the course in tandem with Blackpool’s Luke Minns, the two of them recording the fastest time of 16:41.

Lee Barlow ran 18:45, Steve Myerscough 19:02, Simon Denye 19:12, Carl Groome 19:57, Arran Galvin 20:11, Stuart Topping 21:09, Helen Lawrenson 21:22, Jonathan Lawson 21:39,Nicola Unsworth 21:41, Robert Brown 24:16, Phil Leaver 24:21, Garry Barnett 24:55,Robert Danson 25:53, Diane Blagden 26:18, Paul Carter 26:40, Maureen Danson 27:08, Caz Wadsworth 27:30, Kim McGuire 28:20, Anne Berry 28:44, George Helme 28:45, Ben Wrigley 29:16, Debbie Bell 29:19, Wendy Monnelly 30:47, Lynn Brown 36:57 and George Flanagan 41:30.