Fylde sweep the board at awards presentation

Fylde RU'Steve McGinnis Senior XV
Fylde RU'Steve McGinnis Senior XV
Share this article
Have your say

FYLDE RU players and officials swept the board at the annual presentations organised by the Lancashire County Rugby Union.

Fylde were named team of the year, while coach Mark Nelson and flanker Steve McGinnis also received prizes.

The Woodlands club was honoured after winning the National League Two North title, winning 26 of their 30 matches and scoring an average of 46 points per game.

McGinnis was named as the Lancashire’s senior player of year for his contribution to the County Championship winning campaign.

Lancashire retained the title with a gritty 32-23 victory over Hertfordshire at Twickenham.

Fylde also retained the John Burgess Lancashire Cup for the third successive season, though this was via a walk-over in the final.

Nelson, who is Fylde coach and the county’s rugby development manager, was presented with the county honours tie for services to rugby in the county.

*At the Blackpool RUFC player of the year presentation, Gaz Woodall was named player of the year at the promotion-winning club.

Kane Hadgraft won young player of the year, while club-man of the year was captain Russ Woodward, who also received the chairman’s prize for outstanding service.

Ed Parlour received a similar honour from the chairman.

Parlour got a comme-morative plate for his work as coach, press secretary and secretary.

Ian Dodd will remain as chairman and will be assisted by president George Bagot.

Woodward has retained the captaincy, as well as taking on the role of vice-chairman.

Chris Parlour is new chairman of rugby.

Melanie Sanderson succeeds Parlour as secretary.

Pre-season training begins on July 6 at 7pm, with coach Patrick Connor expected to continue in this role, with the help of experienced players Woodall and Baz Tucker.

The club are looking for new sponsors.