‘Fylde squad still work in progress’ – Nelson

Newcomer Chris Briers shows off Fylde's new kit, based on a much loved original hooped design
Newcomer Chris Briers shows off Fylde's new kit, based on a much loved original hooped design
Share this article
Have your say

FYLDE coach Mark Nelson says the squad is still a ‘work in progress’ ahead of tomorrow’s intriguing opener at home to Jersey (kick-off 3pm)

Nelson is happy with his close-season captures and the way training has gone, but added: “It will take us five or six games for us to gel as a unit – last season it was not until Christmas that we really kicked on.”

Fylde introduce six new signings tomorrow – Chris Briers, Steve Depledge, Alex Loney, Gareth Rawling, Simon Grifiths and Ed Binham.

Another new arrival Evan Stewart was not considered as he missed part of pre-season because of duties at the Lancaster school where he works.

Gavin Cartmel has an ankle injury, while Tom Lavelle has an injured shoulder.

Grant Ferguson, Alan Holmes and Steve Collins are all unavailable.

Nelson believes that Jersey will provide formidable opposition.

He said: “Obviously, they are a well-resourced and ambitious club and looking at their team they could well turn out to be Championship standard.

“But we have not to be too worried about the opposition and be more concerned about our own preparation and the way we approach the game.”

Nelson said it was vital that Fylde attracted support through the gates, not just from local rugby followers but those throughout the North West.

“We need at least 800-900 at home games every week so that we can sustain the kind of ideals and ambitions that we have here.”

Fylde will field two sets of brothers in the starting line-up tomorrow – Chris and Stephen Briers, as well as Sam and Josh Beaumont.

Fylde: Royle; C Briers, S Briers, Waywell, Brennand; Kenyon, Depledge; Livesey, Roddam, Loney, Rawlings, Arnold, J Beaumont, McGinnis, S Beaumont. Replacements: Altham, Griffiths, Stephenson, Wallwork, Binham.

Jersey: Le Bourgeois; Bryce, Bishop, Sanders, Copsey; Broadfoot, N Griffiths; Evans, Felton, Brennan, Rodgers, Hannay, Bell, Thompson, Trower. Replacements: Ellershaw, Clyde-Smith, O’Brien, McCormick, Dawson.