Lord brings end to reign of Boyes

Jack Lord
Jack Lord
Have your say

The reign of Chris Boyes in the Gazette/Blacktax matchplay golf tournament is over.

The 2010 and 2012 winner was beaten by De Vere Herons Reach golfer Jack Lord, who has entered the competition for the first time.

Lord defeated Knott End golfer Boyes at the Blackpool course 3 and 1.

The 22-year-old graphic designer said: “There were a lot of players who got a bye in the first round - I enter the first time and I get the champion for the past two years!

“It wasn’t until a friend texted me and told me that I realised for the first time I was playing the champion for the last two years.

“I suppose it made practise my chipping and putting and taking it more seriously.” Boyes did not give up his hard-earned title without a fight, as Lord readily conceded.

“It was close for most of the way and Chris played really well.”

Lord was one-up at the turn and doubled that advantage at the 10th hole.

Then Boyes struck back with a vengeance, winning on 11 and 12 to make the contest all-square.

Boyes missed out on getting ahead on the 13th when he missed a short putt.

Lord won the 14th before taking 16 and clinching it at the 17th.

Having claimed such a notable scalp at the first attempt, Lord hopes it is the start of a winning sequence.

He said: “It is something to aim for, playing the quarter-final at a prestigious course and then going on to Portugal for the finals.”

First round results:

Jack Lord (Herons Reach: 9) beat Chris Boyes (Knott End:5) 3 up 1 to play

Steven Hare (Herons Reach: 4) beat Ryan Andrew (Fleetwood: 17) 1 up

Paul Foxton (Herons Reach: 13) beat Chris Hibbert (Fairhaven: 13) 3 and 2

William Rawcliffe (Fleetwood: 10) beat Paul Hawkins (Blackpool Park: 13) - 4 and 3

Dave Bamber (Blackpool Park: 6) beat Ian Wishart (St Annes Old Links:11) (2 and 1)

Nicholas Greener (North Shore: 14) beat Geoff Seal (Blackpool Park:17)

Gavin Rees (Fleetwood: 5) beat Gareth Betts (Fairhaven:12)

David Tait (North Shore: 13) beat Miles Watkins (Fairhaven: 7)

David Wilson (Fairhaven:6) beat Scott Sugden (Fleetwood: 16)