Golfers on lookout for a Silver lining

Dudley Warnes (left) receives the De Frece Trophy from Blackpool North Shore cpatain Alan Simmons
Dudley Warnes (left) receives the De Frece Trophy from Blackpool North Shore cpatain Alan Simmons
Share this article
Have your say

Attention turns to Stanley Park on Sunday as the battle for the Fylde Coast AMEON order of merit gathers pace.

The Blackool Park club plays host to the Silver Niblick, which is the fourth in this new series.

Pacesetter is Stuart Crompton (Haigh Hall), who has a handsome lead of 63 points and has confirmed his entry for Sunday.

Second is Blackpool North Shore’s David Hannis, with Ian Hill (Royal Lytham and St Annes) third and David Simpson (Lytham Green Drive) in fourth spot.

Fairhaven’s Matthew Lamb is in eighth position following his victory in the Lytham Green Drive Trophy, one place behind North Shore’s Dudley Warnes, winner of the De Frece Trophy at his home course.

Entry to the order of merit, sponsored by the engineering company, is free and players compete for a prize fund of £500. There is an additional prize of free entry to all five competitions in 2014 for the top points scorer who has played in all five events this year.

The Silver Niblick is one of the longest-established competitions on the Fylde coast.

Entry forms are available on-line at www.blackpool or by contacting secretary Don McLeod on (01253) 397196.

The final competition making up the order of merit is the Spencer Trophy on August 24 at Fleetwood Golf Club. Entry is available on line at or by contacting the club on (01253) 773573.

There are still some spaces left for the Niblick.

There are also spaces left for the William Gladwin Trophy at Blackpool Park on Saturday, named after the much-missed former Gazette chief photographer.

That event is for players with handicaps between 10 and 20.

AMEON order of merit standings: 1 S Crompton (Haigh Hall, 63 points) 2 D Hannis (Blackpool North Shore, 41) 3 I Hill (Royal Lytham, 32,) 4 D Simpson (Green Drive) 5 P Gregory (Davyhulme Park, 30) 6 R Eves (St Annes Old Links, 30) 7 D Warnes (Blackpool North Shore, 30) 8 M Lamb (Fairhaven, 30) 9 J Clarkson (Lancaster, 25) 10 A Cunningham (Westhouhgton, 24) 11 M Cunliffe (Blackpool Park, 24) 12 D Bolton (Lytham Green Drive, 24).