VIDEO: Hodgson hoping to beat the deadline

Share this article
Have your say

Roy Hodgson has urged Premier League clubs to get all their transfer dealings done by the time the England squad meet up at St George’s Park on Monday afternoon.

The England party will get together for the first time on Monday afternoon ahead of their crucial World Cup qualifiers against Moldova and Ukraine.

Roy Hodgson announcs his England squad for the upcoming World Cup qualifiers.

Roy Hodgson announcs his England squad for the upcoming World Cup qualifiers.

Hodgson wants the whole squad to remain together that day, but unfortunately for him, the transfer window shuts on Monday night at 11pm.

Of the 27-man party Hodgson has selected for the two games, Leighton Baines, Andros Townsend, Jermain Defoe and Wayne Rooney have all been linked with moves away from their respective clubs.

Although he acknowledges the final day of the window can be frenetic and unpredictable, in an ideal world, the England manager would prefer it if the transfer business including his squad members was resolved before the players reported for international duty.

“We will co-operate with the clubs, of course, but we will be asking them to co-operate with us as well because if it is at all possible to get your business done before 12pm on September 1, we would be very grateful,” Hodgson said.

“We will be expecting clubs to understand that when we take players with us.

“We don’t get them to join with us until Monday because of the Sunday fixtures. We want them with us so if anything did need to be done in terms of transfers or medicals it would be a discussion with them to get it done in the best possible way.

“We will cross bridge when we come to it. I am happy with my co-operation with managers I am pretty sure it won’t lead to any problems.”

England squad for the World Cup qualifiers against Moldova and Ukraine:

Goalkeepers: Forster (Celtic), Hart (Man City), Ruddy (Norwich).

Defenders: Baines (Everton), Cahill (Chelsea), Cole (Chelsea), Jagielka (Everton), Johnson (Liverpool), Jones (Man Utd), Smalling (Man Utd), Walker (Tottenham).

Midfielders: Barkley (Everton), Carrick (Man Utd), Cleverley (Man Utd), Gerrard (Liverpool), Lampard (Chelsea), Milner (Man City), Sterling (Liverpool), Townsend (Tottenham), Walcott (Arsenal), Wilshere (Arsenal).

Forwards: Defoe (Tottenham), Lambert (Southampton), Rooney (Man Utd), Sturridge (Liverpool), Welbeck (Man Utd), Young (Man Utd).

Follow us on twitter @The_Gazette and like our page on facebook to keep up with all the latest news.