Dozen released by Fleetwood Town

Jamie Milligan is one of those released
Jamie Milligan is one of those released
Share this article
Have your say

Fleetwood Town have released a dozen first team players - with talks still going on over the future of two key squad members.

Boss Graham Alexander revealed the list of squad members to be leaving Highbury with some high profile names axed.

Andy Mangan - who scored in Town’s final two games of the season has left the club along with midfield stalwart Jamie McGuire. Long serving star Jamie Milligan also departs, along with Rob Atkinson, who earlier this season captained the side on his return from a loan spell at Accrington Stanley.

The full released list is: Richie Allen, Rob Atkinson, Anthony Barry, Kieran Charnock, Mozesh Gyorio, Jean-Michel Fontaine, Andy Mangan, Jamie McGuire, Jamie Milligan, Barry Nicholson, Danny Rowe, Liam Wynn.

Youl Mawene will remain at Highbury as a fitness coach.

One year options have been taken up on the contracts of Shaun Beeley and Jamie Allen with negotiations continuing over the future for Jon Parkin and Gareth Evans.

Graham Alexander said: “It’s not been a day I’ve been looking forward to.

“I’ve done what I’ve done with the best of intentions -with the aim of making this club better able to compete at this level.”