Vaughan and Evatt winners on awards night

editorial image
Share this article
Have your say

IAN Evatt managed to prevent David Vaughan making it a clean sweep at the end-of-season awards night.

The central defender might have had an afternoon to forget at Manchester United but he has been in superb form all season, making the step up to the Premier League look easy.

Evatt was rewarded for a fine campaign by winning the John Schofield Memorial Trophy, voted for by supporters on the club’s website.

The centre-half said: “It’s pleasing on a personal level to win something, but at the moment it’s hard to feel anything other than massive disappointment that we didn’t manage to stay in the Premier League.”

Vaughan won the four other big awards, adding the Players’ Player of the Year (voted for by his team-mates) and the BSA and Yorkshire Seasiders awards to his Gazette accolade.

Luke Varney won goal of the season for his wonderstrike in front of Prince William against Wolves. The full list of awards presented last night is:

Yorkshire Seasiders Player - David Vaughan

Tango Top Goalscorer (for league goals) - DJ Campbell (13)

Gazette Player - David Vaughan

Champagne Moment - Topping table after beating Wigan opening day

BSA Young Player - Craig Cathcart

BSA Player - David Vaughan

Goal of the Season - Luke Varney v Wolves

Chris Muir Memorial Trophy - Liam Tomsett

Special Recognition - Brett Ormerod

Players’ Player - David Vaughan

John Schofield Memorial Trophy - Ian Evatt