REACTION: Blackpool deserved late equaliser, says Bowyer

Bowyer was delighted with the spirit his side showed to come back from two goals down
Bowyer was delighted with the spirit his side showed to come back from two goals down
Share this article

Blackpool manager Gary Bowyer says his side more than deserved their last-ditch equaliser against Plymouth Argyle.

Viv Solomon-Otabor came off the bench to rescue a point for the Seasiders in their 2-2 draw against Plymouth Argyle.

The visitors had earlier raced into a two-goal lead in the first half thanks to goals from Ruben Lameiras and Graham Carey.

But Colin Daniel got one back for Pool - who had 20 attempts on goal - before Solomon-Otabor's goal at the death.

When asked if his side deserved their point, Bowyer said: "Yes, absolutely."

He added: “I thought we started off okay, not bad, but again we’re talking about our first goal being a poor goal from our point of view. It was soft and not good enough.

“The second goal is obviously a wonder strike from their lad and fair play to him, but we’ve watched him run from one end of the pitch to the other and not done anything about it. So we’re disappointed with that.

“We’re talking about a great response from being 2-0 down but the fact of the matter is Plymouth have had two shots on goal and took a point off us.

“At the moment we’ve got to score two goals to get a point and that’s not acceptable.

“I was delighted with the response of the three subs (Solomon-Otabor, Dolly Menga and Nathan Delfouneso), we brought on some pace and power and it put them on the back foot.

“It was one-way traffic second half."

The Seasiders had two good shouts for second half penalties.

The first, a foul on Danny Philliskirk, was given as a free kick on the edge of the box when it appeared as though he was brought down inside the box.

And then what looked to be a stonewall penalty wasn't given when Toumani Diagouraga handled Dolly Menga's right-wing cross.

Bowyer believed at least one of them warranted a spot kick, adding: “It’s certainly a penalty on Danny Philliskirk.

“His touch is out of the box but the contact is inside. Between the referee and the linesman they come to the wrong conclusion.

“I thought the linesman could have helped him out to be perfectly honest because he’s looking right across the line.

“That was disappointing from our point of view.

“I’ve not seen the second shout but these things tend to go against you at this moment in time."