Pool start with long trip - fixtures 2015/16

Blackpool's Bloomfield Road stadium
Blackpool's Bloomfield Road stadium
Have your say

Neil McDonald will start life as Blackpool boss with a 550-mile round trip to Colchester United.

It means Pool supporters will have an exhausting start to the season after being drawn away at Northampton in the Capital One Cup just three days later.

The much talked about local derby against Fleetwood will have to wait until November 28, when Graham Alexander’s side visit Bloomfield Road for the 3pm kick-off.

A trip to Highbury comes right at the end of the season, on April 23.

Pool’s first home game is a tasty Lancashire derby as Rochdale are the first to try out the new Bloomfield Road surface, before Burton arrive on the following Tuesday.

Other notable fixtures include a home Boxing Day clash with Oldham, a trip to Barnsley in between Christmas and new year, before a trip to Burton welcomes in the New Year on January 2.

Six of Pool’s league fixtures will be on Tuesday nights, all kicking-off at 7:45pm, although the fact four of them are at home will ease that pain.

Blackpool end the season on a real tough note, the trip to Fleetwood followed by the visit of Wigan before ending the term with a long-drive to Peterborough on the final day.

Blackpool’s full 2015/16 fixtures


08 Colchester United (a)

15 Rochdale (h)

18 Burton Albion(h)

22 Sheffield United (a)

29 Walsall (h)


05 Scunthorpe United (a)

12 Gillingham (a)

19 Barnsley (h)

26 Shrewsbury Town (a)

29 Chesterfield (h) 19:45


03 Swindon Town (h)

10 Bradford City (h)

17 Coventry City (a)

20 Millwall (h) 19:45

24 Crewe Alexandra (h)

31 Bury (a)


14 Doncaster Rovers (h)

21 Southend United (a)

24 Port Vale (a) 19.45

28 Fleetwood Town (h)


12 Wigan Athletic (a)

19 Peterborough United (h)

26 Oldham Athletic (h)

28 Barnsley (a)


02 Burton Albion (a)

09 Sheffield United (h)

16 Scunthorpe United (h)

23 Walsall (a)

30 Gillingham (h)


06 Oldham Athletic (a)

13 Shrewsbury Town (h)

20 Swindon Town (a)

27 Bradford City (h)


01 Chesterfield (a) 19.45

05 Millwall (a)

12 Coventry City (h)

19 Crewe Alexandra (a)

26 Bury (h)

28 Doncaster Rovers (a)


02 Southend United (h)

09 Colchester United (h)

16 Rochdale (a)

19 Port Vale (h) 19.45

23 Fleetwood Town (a)

30 Wigan Athletic (h)


08 Peterborough United (a) 12.30