Latest bookies' odds for vacant manager's job at Blackpool

Richie Wellens is the leading favourite with the bookies' odds
Richie Wellens is the leading favourite with the bookies' odds

Former Seasider Richie Wellens is currently the overwhelming bookies' favourite to take the vacant manager's job at Blackpool.

READ MORE: Blackpool job's not for me, says interim boss Terry McPhillips

The 38-year-old, who made over 190 appearances for Blackpool during a six-year spell, watched on from the stands on Saturday as the Seasiders lost 2-1 to Portsmouth.

The former midfielder is currently out of work after leaving Oldham during the summer after the Latics were relegated to League Two.

Gary Taylor-Fletcher, who is second in the running, was also at Bloomfield Road on Saturday working for BBC Radio Lancashire - where he reiterated his desire to take on the job.

It comes after Gary Bowyer handed in his resignation last week after two seasons with the club.

Despite ruling himself out of the running, temporary boss Terry McPhillips remains fourth favourite.

Early front-runner Ian Holloway has dropped down to sixth after telling The Gazette he'd have no interest in the post.

Wellens and Taylor-Fletcher aren't the only two former players on the list of potential candidates, with John Murphy, Micky Mellon, Ian Evatt and Keith Southern all included in the betting.

Owen Coyle, who has previously come close to taking on the role, is fifth favourite. The former Burnley, Bolton Wanderers, Wigan Athletic and Blackburn Rovers boss was rumoured to have been spotted at Bloomfield Road on Friday and Saturday night.

A new name to enter the frame is Dave Robertson. The 44-year-old took charge of Peterborough United for nine games in 2015 and was most recently at Sligo Rovers.

Odds according to SkyBet

Richie Wellens - 10/11

Gary Taylor-Fletcher - 3/1

Simon Grayson - 5/1

Terry McPhillips - 5/1

Owen Coyle - 9/1

Ian Holloway - 10/1

Dave Robertson - 16/1

John Murphy - 16/1

Micky Mellon - 16/1

Dave Jones - 18/1

David Hopkin - 20/1

Ian Evatt - 20/1

Keith Southern - 20/1

Steve Thompson - 22/1

Phil Brown - 25/1

Gary Johnson - 28/1

Kevin Nolan - 33/1

Michael Appleton - 33/1

Danny Cowley - 40/1

Dave Hockaday - 40/1

Jon Whitney - 40/1