Ince in hot water over referee row

Paul Ince
Paul Ince
0
Have your say

Paul Ince apologised to a supporter after an accident which saw him sent to the stands at Bournemouth.

With Pool down to 10 men protecting their 2-1 lead late in the game, Ince was furious when striker Nathan Delfouneso missed a superb chance to clinch the win.

In frustration, Ince threw a drinks bottle to the ground only for it to bounce up and hit a female supporter on the leg.

Assistant boss Alex Rae explained: “The gaffer threw the bottle in frustration towards an advertising board but it bounced over.

“He walked over to the lady immediately and apologised, which she accepted.

“As far as we were concerned that was the end of it, but the fourth official decided in his wisdom to get involved.

“Paul is disappointed. He didn’t think it warranted that but there’s nothing we can do about it now.”

Ince now faces an anxious wait to see if the FA takes any action. He is expected to be charged today and will be given until Thursday to respond which means he’s unlikely to be forced to watch tomorrow night’s game at Millwall from the stands.

It’s understood the referee’s report will contain details of what was said in the aftermath of the incident which could see Ince landed a ban and a fine.

It took the shine off a wonderful result for the Seasiders. who battled with 10 men after Jack Robinson was dismissed.

Rae added: “I thought it was a magnificent performance. The boys were excellent from start to finish.

“We showed a lot of character. It was difficult to play against a team like Bournemouth, who pass the ball really well. The workrate and application from the lads was first class.

“We scored at important times.”

Pool were cruising until full-back Robinson received his marching orders. He had been booked in the first half for a foul on Ryan Fraser and picked up his second yellow for a supposed trip on the same player.

Rae was stunned. “I thought it was an unbelievable decision,” he said. “We’ve looked at the video and Robinson tries to check his run to get out the way. I find it staggering he made that call.

“Jack made two fouls in the game and got two bookings. We feel aggrieved.”