Danson picks up where he left off

Rob Danson started off this year's Inter Club race series in Stanley Park, Blackpool, as he finished the last series,

Friday, 14th April 2017, 5:00 pm
Updated Tuesday, 9th May 2017, 8:18 pm
Rob Danson started this years Inter Club series with a race victory

He led the race from start to finish, completing the four-mile double lap in 19:43.

James Mulvany worked his way steadily up to 10th place with a time of 21:36 with David Taylor posting a strong run of 22:14 to place 12th.

Steve Waterhouse judged a good run for 23rd in 22:57, with Lee Barlow finishing strongly in 24th with 23:01.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Steve Myerscough was 31st in 23:20, finishing ahead of Ugis Datvas (33rd, 23:25), Garry Barnett (34th, 23:26), Paul Gregory (43rd, 23:50) and Jason Barlow (46th, 23:53) as Wesham won the overall team category.

Helen Lawrenson was sixth woman in 26:03, Nicola Unsworth 10th in 27:05, Sarah Sherratt 14th with 27:23, Kath Hoyer 30th in 29:55 and Jessica Coulthurst 31st with 30:02, giving the Wesham women the third team slot.

The men’s over-40 team of Waterhouse, Barlow, Myerscough, Datvas, Barnett and Barlow were also team winners, with the M50s of Barnett, Peter Cruse (69th, 24:51), Nigel Shepherd (105th, 26:12) and John Collier (107th,, 26:13) insecond.

The M60 team of Collier, John Bertenshaw (122nd, 26:55) and Alan Hudson (123rd, 26:58) were also second in their category.

Lawrenson, Unsworth, Sherratt, Hoyer and Kerry Eccles (25th, 31:46) were the second W40 team.

The inaugural Wesham Trail Championship continued at the Radcliffe 10K multi-terrain race on Sunday.

There was a good turnout of members with David Taylor third overall in 38:27.

Garry Barnett (39:55) was 10th, leading in Paul Hetherington (17th, 41:43), Steve Myerscough (28th, 43:48), Steven Gore (29th, 44:02), Nigel Shepherd (36th, 45:02) and Helen Lawrenson (44th, 46:16).

Kath Hoyer was 83rd in 50:32, finishing ahead of Gemma Owen (90th, 51:26), George Kennedy (91st, 51:28), Tracey Hulme (97th, 51:53), Alan Taylor (115th, 54:25), Kerry Eccles (143rd, 56:58), Vicky Gore (147th, 57:24), James Danson (159th, 59:06), Mark Dobson (160th, 59:07), Dave Waywell (162nd, 59:12), Debbie Myerscough (178th, 61:29) and Peter Cooke (226th, 68:29).

Carmel Sullivan was first woman in the Fleetwood 10K on Sunday, clocking 43:18.

Jonathan Lawson returned to the Lytham Hall parkrun and ran 21:47, leading in Graham Cunliffe (26:12), Kay Twist (29:04), Stephen Twist (29:07), Clive Berry (29:42) and Debbie Bell (32:28).

Steve Myerscough ran 19:39 at Preston with Arran Galvin back in 19:53 and Robert Brown 24:13.

The Fountains Abbey run in Yorkshire featured David Taylor (17:41), Steven Gore (19:59), Megan Gore (32:54) and Vicky Gore (33:00), while Martin Bates (22:25) and Finlay McCalman (28:37) did the Fell Foot run at Newby Bridge.

At Blackpool, Peter Cruse (19:38) led in Carl Groome (19:49), Helen Lawrenson (20:44), Nicola Unsworth (21:30), George Kennedy (22:39), Dave Young (24:56), Chris Pike (25:06), Kevin McCumiskey (27:35), Anne Flanagan (29:23), Caz Wadsworth (31:52) and Sue Rigby (31:55).