Wesham’s women take team title

Debbie Myerscough in the Blackburn Winter Warmer 10k on Sunday
Debbie Myerscough in the Blackburn Winter Warmer 10k on Sunday
Share this article
Have your say

There was a good quality field in the Blackburn Winter Warmer 10K on Sunday with a winning time of 32:02 and 40 runners inside 40 minutes.

The Wesham women were the victorious ladies team with Carmel Sullivan placing fourth woman and 94th overall in 43:43.

She was ably backed up by Helen Lawrenson (44:28), who ran 44:28 to be be seventh woman and 94th overall.

Nicola Unsworth was 13th woman and 133rd in 46:27, while Kath Hoyer completed the winning team in 25th and 184th overall with 49:24.

Vicky Gore came in 34th and 226th overall in 52:22, while Debbie Myerscough was 124th and 404th overall in 61:03.

In the men’s ranks David Taylor was the first Wesham man over the line in 14th place in a time of 37:25.

Steve Myerscough was 43rd overall in 40:37, finishing ahead of Steven Gore (60th, 41:54), Martin Bates (115th, 45:39), Alan Taylor (209th, 51:11), Chris Moss (229th, 52:47), Dave Waywell (267th, 54:50) and Paul Carter (329th, 57:55).

The 3-1-5 10K was held on Saturday morning in Lancaster, the fourth race in this series.

Peter Cruse was the first Wesham finisher in eighth place with a time of 39:52.

Jason Blagden was 14th with 42:48, Kath Hoyer 30th overall in 47:59 and Mark Dobson 43rd in 51:46.

Stuart Topping ran the Mad Dog 10K in Southport on Sunday, finishing 51st in 39:44 as 2,525 competitors completed the race.

Robert Brown was 469th in 50:00, Julie Rooney and Anne Berry – running together – finished 1382nd and 1383rd in 1:01:12 and 1:01:16, while Lynn Brown came in 2,166th with a time of 1:13:55.

In the Lytham Hall parkrun, Helen Lawrenson ran 21:08, Duncan Carter 21:33, Nicola Unsworth 21:38, Phil Leaver 24:14, Ben Wrigley 25:17 and Lisa Minns 27:12.

The Preston parkrun showed the best result for Wesham with Rob Danson running the fastest time as he emerged from winter illness, clocking 15:42 for a personal best.

Steve Myersough ran 19:45, Nigel Shepherd 20:56, Robert Brown 26:39 and Paul Carter 28:36.

There was a big turnout at the first Blackpool parkrun with James Mulvaney running the inaugural fastest time of 17:20.

David Taylor clocked 18:44, Lee Barlow 19:33, Steven Gore 20:18, Carl Groome 21:31, Ryan Azzopardi 22:58, Steve Thompson 26:25, Dave Young 27:23, Finley McCalman 28:11, Peter Cooke 29:17, Debbie Bell 33:11, Sue Rigby 35:47, George Flanagan 35:48, Megan Gore 38:47 and Vicky Gore 38:47.

Martin Bates ran the Worsley Woods run in 22:35.