Wesham’s Rob races to home victory

Jason Barlow in action at the Wesham 10K
Jason Barlow in action at the Wesham 10K
Have your say

The week’s big event for Wesham was their annual 10K road race.

On a fine, frosty morning with a record entry of 463 runners, Rob Danson soon took control and led for the entire race to win in 32:01.

He finished 49 seconds clear of Danny Collinge (Clayton-le-Moors) and junior winner Joe Monk (Blackburn).

Second for Wesham was Ugis Datvas (17th, 36:35), pipping the leading woman, Clayton-le-Moors’ Laura Hesketh.

She was sandwiched by Wesham’s third man, David Taylor (36:40), while Paul Gregory (26th, 37:34) clinched Wesham men’s team win.

Helen Lawrenson (82nd, 42:52), Nicola Unsworth (92nd, 43:09) and Alona Versina (177th, 48:45) secured victory for Wesham’s women’s team.

Also taking part were Garry Barnett (28th, 37:40), Jason Barlow (30th, 37:55), Peter Cruse (42nd, 38:56), Steve Myerscough (43rd, 39:06), Andy Carey (50th, 39:48), Simon Eaton (61st, 40:56) Nigel Shepherd (63rd, 41:04), Aaron Galvin (74th, 41:48), Jessica Coulthurst (49:00), Bernadette Dickinson (50:43), Lisa Minns (54th, 54:18), Anne Mayers-Smith (61st, 55:12), Maureen Danson (66th, 56:02), Pauline Eccleston (67th, 56:06), Sally Deacon (85th, 58:51) and Julie Rooney (86th, 58:54).

Once again, the Wesham 10K clashed with the Mid Lancs cross country in Sefton Park, Liverpool.

Several members sacrificed the Wesham 10K to compete with some others doubling up.

Catherine Carrdus (33:52) was 11th in the senior women’s 8K race, ahead of Jenn Thompson (62nd, 39:39), Kath Hoyer (66th, 40:06), Sharon Cooper (70th, 40:32), Tanya Barlow (83rd, 42:20) and Kerry Eccles (99th, 44:17) as the Wesham women were 14th overall and the B team 25th.

Dave Waywell, running in the same race, was the first M70 in 43:58.

The senior men’s race saw Simon Denye (38:01) in 82nd place ahead of Lee Barlow (96th, 38:39), Dan Shaw (145th, 41:05), John Collier (190th, 42:42), John Bertenshaw (230th, 44:37) and Ben Wrigley (275th, 49:01) as the men’s team came 26th.

Dan Shaw (33:31) was 22nd and Nigel Shepherd (39:17) 59th in the David Staff Fell Race; Kath Hoyer (60:56) was 108th at Arnside Knott.

Alan Taylor was 1,183rd in the San Sebastian Half Marathon, ahead of Chris Moss (1,396th). Jenn Salt finished the full marathon in 2,055th, Peter Bartlett was 2,406th, while Carmel Sullivan (42:22) was 76th in the Benidorm 10K.

At the Preston parkrun, Jonathan Lawson ran 22:56, Robert Brown 25:09 and Jon McLeod 25:33.