Japp’s stunning start to new season

Michelle Tickle checks her watch at the end of the Lytham Hall parkrun
Michelle Tickle checks her watch at the end of the Lytham Hall parkrun
Have your say

Blackpool, Wyre and Fylde members were among those who competed in the first cross country Mid Lancs League fixture of the season.

Emily Japp was 69 seconds ahead in the senior ladies race, completing the two-lap, six-kilometre course in 23:39.

Stasia Bligh was 36th in 30:18, Laura Lawler 43rd in 30:55, Andrea Smith 67th in 32:28 and Karen Dunford 6th in 32:44.

The Open team of Japp, Bligh and Lawler finished sixth; the Vet 35 team of Bligh, Lawler and Smith was seventh and the Vet 45 team of Lawler, Smith and Dunford third.

John Winters was second with 42:08 in the Vet 70 race held at the same time.

The senior men’s race was over three full laps and one small – a total of 9.9K.

The men’s team was Danny Hayes (39:18), Andrew Simm (47:01), Peter Singleton (49:30), Alan Wilkinson (58:44), Simon Scarr (60:04), Peter Gibson (60:22), John Reason (63:54) and Jeff Wright (67:16).

The team was 22nd in the Open event, 14th in the Vet 40s and 11th for the Vet 50s.

BWFAC hosted their own five-mile race in Stanley Park.

The race was won by Rob Danson of Wesham Road Runners in an excellent time of 26:27.

James Unsworth had a battling race with Wesham’s Jason Barlow, finally finishing second in 30:35 with Barlow two seconds behind.

Other BWFAC runners were Richard Eaves (30:48), Nick Hume (35:55), Darren Lewin (35:02), Peter Singleton (36:21), Laura Lawler (38:04), Alan Wilkinson (41:49), Peter Gibson (41:57), Jeff Wright (44:58) and John Winters (50:10).

Laura Lawler was 531st with 1:43:59 in the Cheltenham Half Marathon and also took part in the Blue Light 19.1-mile walk from Broughton Ambulance Station to the RNLI Station on Blackpool Promenade for the charity MIND.

Derek Crane ran in the Matalan Merseyside 10K, where he was 268th in 50:52.

There were celebrations all round for BWFAC members at the latest Lytham Hall parkrun.

Michelle Tickle pushed herself to finish as first lady in a PB of 22:09, while Howard Henshaw finished in 30:09 and Victoria Talbot set a time of 31:56.