Winning streak

Kirkham GS First Sevens team at Felstead
Kirkham GS First Sevens team at Felstead
Share this article
Have your say

KIRKHAM Grammar School rugby teams are celebrating success in sevens tournaments around the country.

The First VII travelled to the Felsted Invitation Sevens in Essex... but the long trip was worthwhile.

In their group games, they overcame Magdalen College School (Oxford) 26-12, Berkhamsted School 26-24 and Felsted B 38-12.

In the semi-finals, KGS faced The Royal Hospital School from Ipswich.

Sam Hall, Ben Swift and captain Tom Hurst scored the tries that saw KGS into the final against host school Felsted, who included a number of England schoolboy internationals.

In a tough encounter, Kirkham took a 12-0 half-time lead after excellent tries from Hall and Robbie Lockhart.

Although Felsted came back strongly, Hall’s second and a try by Swift clinched another trophy for KGS

The KGS Under-13s won the Bromsgrove Sevens. They eased through the group stages to reach the semi-final against Bromsgrove A, in which they raced into a 19-0 half-time lead thanks to tries from Pearson (2) and captain Jack Culver.

The second half was tighter, but KGS maintained composure to meet Cheltenham in the final.

Chris Walker scored a 60m try, then made a break which resulted in Pearson scoring a second. Walker got a second before half-time, before completing his hat-trick in the second period.

Cheltenham’s late consolation try made the final score 29-5, but captain Culver was able to celebrate with his squad – William Smith, Gabriel Bland, Jonathan Smit, Dylan Corkhill, Matthew Lewthwaite, Henry Pearson, Chris Walker, Kieran Wilkinson, Matthew Newby.

The Under-14s were unbeaten in the Richard Wilson Invitational Sevens, edging Leicester 14-12 in the final.

The Under-12s were triumphant in the Wirral GS Sevens, beating St Ambrose in the final with tries from Sam Minten, Kieran Wilkinson and James Allum.

Captain Wilkinson’s team was Sam Minten, Oliver Fearn, Ryan Leach, James Allum, Callum Hughes, Kieran Butler, Harley Dewhurst, Ran Parkinson and Matthew Carr.

The Under-12s were beaten 22-10 by Silcoates School.