Win for Tories

editorial image
Have your say

The Conservatives held onto Waterloo ward following last night’s local by-election in Blackpool.

Hotelier Derek Robertshaw was elected after receiving 406 votes, ahead of UKIP’s John Braithwaite with 372 votes.

Labour were just behind with 347 votes polled for Kathy Ellis, while Mike Hodkinson (Liberal Democrat) received 34 votes, and Jack Renshaw (British National Party) received 17 votes.

Coun Tony Williams, leader of the Conservative group on Blackpool Council, said: “There is a new and forward thinking Conservative group in Blackpool and I believe the people of Waterloo have realised Derek Robertson is both a man they can trust and someone who will represent them better than all others.”