Outgoing councillors celebrated

Coun Peter Gibson, leader of Wyre Borough Council
Coun Peter Gibson, leader of Wyre Borough Council
Have your say

A dozen borough councillors who are retiring from their roles ahead of the May 
elections have been celebrated.

Conservative councillors for Wyre Council, Julia Anderson, David Bannister, Roger Brooks, May and Ramesh Gandhi, Jim Hargreaves, Don Lawrenson, Gordon McCann, Julie Newsham and Dave Swift, are not standing for re-election, are stepping down, having served the borough for more than 138 years between them.

And two Labour councillors, Terry Rogers and Paul Treece-Birch, are also not standing again.

Wyre Council’s current leader, Peter Gibson, has praised their “dedication”, in particular paying tribute to Coun Rogers work as the armed forces champion.

Coun Gibson said: “I would personally like to thank [the Conservative councillors] for their hard work, dedication and support

“And to personally thank Terry and Paul for their contributions, but particularly pay tribute to Terry for what he has delivered and achieved in his role as the armed forces champion.”

Those councillors who have served for 16 years are likely, subject to acceptance, to be handed the title of Honorary Alderman, following the elections on May 7.