Labour retain Clifton ward

Ballot box
Ballot box
Have your say

Luke Taylor has been elected as the new councillor for Clifton ward on Blackpool Council.

Mr Taylor retained the seat for Labour with 501 votes after a by-election was called following the death of former councillor Joan Greenhalgh.

UKIP’s Spencer Shackleton polled the second highest number of votes with 362, while Conservative candidate Bruce Allen came in third with 283 votes.

The other candidates were Gita Gordon (Liberal Democrats) who received 33 votes, Tina Rothery (Green Party Stop Fracking Now), who received 25 votes and Philip Watt (Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts) who received 10 votes.