Honoured for ‘eminent’ service

Councillor Gordon McCann
Councillor Gordon McCann
Have your say

Wyre Council is set to appoint six of its former councillors as Honorary Alderman of the authority.

It has been recommended by Coun Peter Gibson, leader of the council, that the title be conferred on David Bannister, Roger Brooks, May Gandhi, Jim Hargreaves, Don Lawrenson and Gordon McCann (pictured).

These six former councillors each served the local authority for at least four terms, or 16 years, each before stepping down before the election earlier this month.

The title is bestowed on councillors who it is considered have made “eminent” contributions, Coun Gibson said.

All Wyre councillors will vote on the recommendation at their first Full Council meeting of the new term, to be held at Wyre Civic Centre, in Poulton, on Thursday at 7pm.