Celebrating success in the health service

Celebrating Success judges Ian Johnson, Gary Doherty, Robert Hudson, Marie Thompson, Andy Mitchell and Rebecca Draper.
Celebrating Success judges Ian Johnson, Gary Doherty, Robert Hudson, Marie Thompson, Andy Mitchell and Rebecca Draper.
Have your say

The first round of judging has been completed, and there is now a shortlist for this year’s Celebrating Success awards.

The awards, which celebrate the best in Blackpool’s health service, have had a record number of entries as people nominate their favourite nurse, doctor, consultant and non-clinical members of staff.

As in previous years, The Gazette is sponsoring the Patient’s Award, which itself had a bumper number of entries.

In total, 294 nominations were made – more than 90 of them for Patient’s Award which attracted the highest number of entries out of the six categories.

Gary Doherty, chairman of Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, which is running the awards, said: “This is a record-breaking number and we are delighted that so many people who have received treatment from us have taken the time to commend both clinical and non-clinical staff.

“Because of the high standard of nominations in many of the categories, the decisions were incredibly tight with a number of nominations deserving recognition. This left the panel with an unenviable task of trying to formulate a shortlist, but it was inspiring to read the stories of staff that had gone the extra mile or transformed services for the benefit of all our patients. We would like to thank every person or team nominated, but special congratulations must go to those mentioned below who shone through to make the shortlist.”

The shortlist is:

Clinical Team of the Year

- Care Home Support Team

- Integrated Assessment Team

- Wards 25/26

Non-Clinical Team of the Year

- Better Care Now Pathways Team

- Chaplaincy

- Estates and Capital Development Team

Innovation and Service Improvement Award

- Enhanced Recovery in Cardiac Surgery

- Sandra Singleton

- Volunteer Navigators

Employee of the Year

- Jane Cairns

- Sarah Sloan

- Simon Tucker

Radio Wave’s Unsung Hero Award

- Community Special Needs

- Lianne Harrison

- Eileen Shaw

The Gazette’s Patients’ Award

- Nigel Laycock

- Tarek Saba

- Ward 15A

This year’s judging panel consisted of Trust chairman Ian Johnson, chief executive Gary Doherty, public governor Robert Hudson, director of nursing and quality Marie Thompson, Radio Wave news editor Andy Mitchell and The Gazette’s health reporter Rebecca Draper.

The awards will be held at the Empress Ballroom in the Winter Gardens on November 14.