Fylde’s creative kids celebrated at awards

Young Seasiders presentation evening at Blackpool Tower Circus. Baines School.
Young Seasiders presentation evening at Blackpool Tower Circus. Baines School.
Have your say

The Fylde’s creative kids were heraldedfor their amazing talents at a bumper Young Seasiders awards night.

The Gazette’s annual awards, held at Blackpool Tower Circus, saw more than 50 schools take part and up to 800 pack the venue for Tuesday’s prizegiving.

Young seasiders

Young seasiders

The event, sponsored by Blackpool and The Fylde College, has clocked up more than 70 years and was again hosted by Ged Mills.

The winners of the main prize, The Gazette Trophy, was The Willows RC Primary School for their Royal Wedding-themed Tunnel of Love 3D model.

The winner of the Blackpool and The Fylde College Trophy for an outstanding piece of individual work was awarded to Andra Lagzda from Lytham St Annes Technology and Performing Arts College, presented by Jon Moss, Curriculum Manager at Blackpool and The Fylde College.Blackpool Art Society’s president Roderick Robinson also presented their awards to three winners

Andy Sykes, deputy editor at The Gazette, told the winners: “You are all a credit to your schools, teachers, parents and mostly yourselves. There is life beyond the screens of an iPad or a mobile phone and our judges were amazed by your creativity and talents.”

Blackpool and the Fylde College

Blackpool and the Fylde College

l The Young Seasiders exhibition continues until Tuesday March 20, University Campus, Park Road, Blackpool.

It is open weekdays Monday to Thursday 10am to 7pm, and Friday 10am to 4pm.

Schools which took part

Anchorsholme Primary Academy

Ansdell Primary School

Baines School

Baines Endowed CE Primary School

Bispham Endowed CE Primary School

Blackpool Gateway Academy

Boundary Primary School

Breck Primary School

Cardinal Allen Catholic High School

Carleton Green Community Primary School

Carleton St Hilda’s CE Primary School

Charles Saer Primary School

Chaucer Primary School

Devonshire Primary Academy

Flakefleet Primary School

Hambleton Primary Academy

Hawes Side Academy

Hodgson Academy

Holy Family Catholic Primary School

Home Education Group

Kincraig Primary School

Kirkham Grammar Junior School

Kirkham St Michaels CE Primary School

Langdale Free School

Larkholme Primary School

Layton Primary School

Lytham Hall Park Primary School

Lytham St Annes Technology and Performing Arts College

Manor Beach Primary School

Marton Primary Academy and Nursery

Moor Park Primary School

Norbreck Primary Academy

Our Lady of the Assumption Catholic Primary School

Our Lady Star of the Sea Primary School

Park Community Academy

Poulton St Chad’s CE Primary School

Red Marsh School

Revoe Learning Academy

Ribby with Wrea Endowed CE Primary School

Royles Brook Primary School

St Bernadette’s RC Primary School

St Joseph’s Wesham Catholic Primary School

St Kentigern’s RC Primary School

St Peter’s RC Primary School

St Thomas CE Primary School

Shakespeare Primary School

South Shore Academy

Thames Primary School

The Willows Catholic Primary School

Thornton Primary School

Treales CE Primary School

Unity Academy – Primary

Unity Academy – Secondary

Waterloo Primary Academy

Weeton Primary School