Hairy Dave’s Ballroom dream

Dave Myers
Dave Myers
Have your say

Not all the Strictly Come Dancing stars will make it as far as Blackpool but there’s one man who will be gutted if he falls short.

Hairy Biker Dave Myers is one of 15 celebrities taking part in this year’s competition, which will feature a heat in the resort at the Tower Ballroom.

Myers, 55, said: “Blackpool is just down the coast from where I was brought up in Barrow-on-Furness.

“I visited the Tower as a child and my ambition on Strictly is to make it as far as that heat.”

The former steelwork furnace worker, who went on to become a prosthetic make-up specialist for TV before finding fame as a chef, is an unlikely choice for a ballroom dancing programme, but that’s the beauty of the show.

He said: “I want to enjoy it and I am going to wear as much fake tan and glitter as possible. I’ve never fake tanned before – I’ll do anything!

“I am going to give it 100 per cent, but I’ll need a partner that is patient and has feet of steel.”

Celebs ranging from footie WAG Abbey Clancy to ex-Dragon’s Den judge Deborah Meaden, and former England rugby World Cup winner Ben Cohen to golf legend Tony Jacklin are taking part in this year’s Strictly.

It is the 11th series (the show began in 2004, when the first winner was newsreader Natasha Kaplinsky) and will again be hosted by Sir Bruce Forsyth and Tess Daly.

The cameras will be at the Tower Ballroom on November 16.

Kate Shane, manager of the Tower, said: “There is a brilliant buzz around Strictly and we are really excited to have it coming back.

“It showcases the beautiful Tower Ballroom in all its glory to everybody across the country.”

Dancing in and out of Blackpool Tower

Strictly Come Dancing appeared on TV for the first time in 2004 and there was huge hype around the show’s final being held in Blackpool.

The resort was dropped the following year, but after The Gazette launched a campaign to bring Strictly back to Blackpool, the Tower hosted a special edition in November 2009, another spectacular live heat in 2010 and a glittering final in 2011.

Last year’s series was won by Olympic gymnast Louis Smith and his partner Flavia Cacace.

Previous winners include pop star Harry Judd (above with Aliona Vilani), cricketers Mark Ramprakash and Darren Gough, and BBC sports reporter Chris Hollins. A record TV audience of 13.35 million watched last year’s final.

Follow us on twitter @EntsGazette and like our page on facebook to keep up with all the latest news.