A touch of the night from Little Boots

album cover
album cover
Have your say

Nearly four years on from her debut album ‘Hands’, Blackpool’s own Little Boots, aka Victoria Christina Hesketh, returned this week with what Nick Irvin and Neil Carpenter from HMV’s store in Blackpool describe as a pulsating slice of dirty euphoric disco.

Produced by Tim Goldsworthy, who has worked with the likes of Unkle, LCD Soundsystem, David Holmes and Massive Attack, ‘Nocturnes’ is at the same time dark and uplifting.

Little Boots (right) combines her extensive DJ experience and love of late 1970s disco to make an album that will fill dancefloors around the globe. Here they review the new album track by track.

Track 1. Motorway: The Nocturnes journey begins with the euphoric Motorway.

Lyrically inspired by the M55 out of Blackpool to the highs and lows of life of a touring artist. Dreamlike and trance influenced this is the perfect start to the album and a great pre night out track.

Track 2. Confusion: Co-written by Jeppe Laursen who wrote and produced Lady Gaga’s ‘Born This Way’. This synth drenched and house infused pop nugget defies the lyrical pain with a catchy chorus with a hook that pulls you straight on to the dancefloor.

Track 3. Broken Record: This track takes the album to a darker place where Victoria reflects on the pain of letting someone go when relationships end. Imagine Kylie Minogue transported back in time to Studio 54, or Madonna’s early disco phase (co-writer Rick Nowels worked with Madge) to give a flavour of this hypnotic club track.

Track 4. Shake: Co-written with Simian Mobile Disco’s James Ford, Victoria says “this was very much a blueprint for the rest of the record”. Quintessentially Little Boots, Ice cool vocals over rising strings, heavy dub and pulsating synths. It’s a dancefloor stomper at the heart of Nocturnes disco.

Track 5. Beat Beat: Stephen Sears’ review on Idalotor.com hit the nail on the head when he called Beat Beat “the blond sister to Daft Punk’s current bass heavy ‘Get Lucky’”. A summer anthem celebrating the joy of disco, to paraphrase Victoria it has the power to make it “like Saturday on Monday”.

Track 6. Every Night I Say A Prayer: Little Boots has seen the future, and it’s New York 1978! Glitter balls, sequins, sequencers. A collaboration with Andy Butler of Hercules & Love Affair, this was originally released as a limited edition 12” for

Record Store Day 2012. Happily for us Little Boots continues to support record stores.

Track 7. Crescendo: Each verse builds sonically, layers of vocals, synthesizers and drums representing the escalation of an argument. Once again the dark subject matter is subverted by the uplifting hooks and infectious chorus. On a Little Boots album even the bad times are good.

Track 8. Strangers: “I know you so well, but we dance like strangers tonight” a melancholy tale of a fading relationship, with a yearning to start over and recapture the thrill of falling in love. Echoes of Saint Etienne, shades of Giorgio Moroder in this introspective post disco track.

Track 9. All For You: Drawing on her extensive Dj-ing experience, Boots knows when it’s time to take a break from the dancefloor, and All For You is a sophisticated and reflective musing that show a maturity and confidence that shows growth as an artist. Could easily be covered by other local favourites Pet Shop Boys, providing the perfect pause before the big finish.

Track 10; Satellite: An anthemic explosion of euphoric energy, hands in the air,

mirror ball spinning wildly into ecstasy. Little Boots is ready to soar, but has her feet firmly on the dancefloor. The end of the album, but the start of the night.