Vardy denies a spot of cheating

Blackpool's Neil Eardley and Leicester City's Jamie Vardy
Blackpool's Neil Eardley and Leicester City's Jamie Vardy

JAMIE Vardy has hit back at Ian Holloway’s claims he dived to secure Leicester’s match-winning penalty on Saturday.

The Foxes’ £1m summer signing from Fleetwood Town went down easily when challenged by Tiago Gomes. Furious Pool boss Holloway said the striker conned the referee, something Vardy was quick to deny.

“I have cut inside of him and he has banged into the back of me,” said Vardy, who netted 34 goals for the Highbury club last season.

“If there is contact it is a penalty. I thought we should have had one just before, but the referee has given this one and it is down to him at the end of the day.

“There was one on Lloyd Dyer just before. Lloyd said it was definitely a penalty but the referee didn’t give it.”

Replays show Gomes got a clear touch on the ball and referee Mike Jone made the wrong decision, but Vardy says that’s not his problem.

“There was no dive. There was definitely contact, and the laws of the game say that if there is contact and he hasn’t touched the ball it is a penalty.”

Click here to read the original story: Penalty ‘totally wrong’ blasts Holloway