Hopefuls bid for county role

The polls open on May 2 for the Lancashire County Council Elections.
The polls open on May 2 for the Lancashire County Council Elections.
Have your say

A total of 57 hopefuls are bidding for one of just 14 seats at County Hall across Wyre and Fylde.

In Wyre, there are eight seats in the County Council elections on May 2, for which 27 people are standing, and in Fylde 30 people are vying for six seats.

All the main political parties are represented and there are independent candidates as well.

Each candidate has until midday today to withdraw from the elections.

The council hopefuls are expected to start contacting voters soon in the run up to the polls.

Fylde Council’s deputy returning officer, Tracy Morrison, said: “There is a wide range of opinions represented by candidates. They will soon be contacting voters and I hope residents will listen closely to what they have to say – Fylde voters are never shy about asking questions.

“The county council provides services including highways, education, social care for vulnerable people of all ages, libraries, winter-gritting and museums. These elections really are very important for all of us and I hope that everyone will remember to cast their vote.”

Voters have until April 17 to make sure their names are on the electoral register and to apply for a postal vote.

Visit www.wyre.gov.uk or www.fylde.gov.uk.


A list of candidates for Wyre and Fylde for the election on May 2



Richard Chapmann, UKIP

Alan Morgan, Lab

John Shedwick, Con

Fleetwood East:

Margaret Bond, Con

Julian Hodgson, UKIP

Ron Shewan, Lab

Ray Smith, Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts

Fleetwood West

Lorraine Beavers, Lab

David Gerrard, UKIP

Jack Harrison, Communist Party of Britain

Chris McConnachie, Con


Simon Noble, UKIP

Sandra Denise Perkins, Ind

Ben Whittingham. Labour and Co-operative Party.

Val Wilson, Con

Lian Bromley, Lab

Alf Clempson, Con

Vicki Hopwood, UKIP

Thornton Cleveleys Central

Kevin Ronald Craigmere, Lab

Roy Hopwood, UKIP

Jim Lawrenson, Con

Kevin Morrison, Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts

Thornton Cleveleys North

Adrian Crutcher, UKIP

Andrea Kay, Con

Penny Martin, Lab


Sean Hazlewood, Lab

Vivien Taylor, Con



Fylde East

Dennis Davenport, Lab

Keith Dunkerley, UKIP

Karen Merritt, Green

Elizabeth Oades, Ind

Daniel Valentine, Con

Fylde West

Chris Bates, UKIP

Paul Hayhurst, Ind

Philip Mitchell, Green

Sandra Pitman, Con

Jed Sullivan, Lab

Fylde South

Julie Brickles, Ind

Kiran Mulholland, Ind

Wiliam James Proctor, UKIP

Paul Rigby, Con

Bill Taylor, Lab

St Annes South

Fabian Craig-Wilson, Con

Karen Henshaw, Lib Dem

Colin Mackintosh, UKIP

Ian Roberts, Green

Robin Sherwood, Lab

Andy Winneriss, Monster Raving Loony Party

St Annes North

Peter Buckley, Con

Howard Henshaw, Lib Dem

Evelyn McNamara, Green

Peter Stephenson, Labour and Co-operative Party

Keith Taylor, UKIP


Tim Ashton, Con

Martin Bleeker, UKIP

Carol Gilligan, Lib Dem

Irene Patterson, Green

Marjorie Sherwood, Labour and Co-operative

Follow us on twitter @The_Gazette and like our page on facebook to keep up with all the latest news.