Cardle retains title in storm of controversy (watch fight in full)

Cardle - still the title holder
Cardle - still the title holder
0
Have your say

Lytham boxer Scott Cardle is still the British lightweight champion, but he retained it in controversial fashion at the Echo Arena, Liverpool against Sean 'Masher' Dodd.

The contest went the full 12 round distance, but the verdict was a technical draw by the three ringside judges.

Two judges had it even, while a third gave it to Cardle by two rounds.

The decision was roundly booed by angry Dodd supporters, who clearly thought their man was a victim of injustice.

It was a hard bout to call throughout, and there was no repeat of the first title fight between the two, which ended with Cardle stopping Dodd in the 12th round.

Cardle was on the move for much of the contest, proving an elusive target.

It did not make for anything like a fascinating contest as the first meeting and the high-intensity action was sporadic.

Cardle hit the canvas in round three, but the referee Marcus McDonnell ruled it was a slip, a decision that was hotly-disputed by the Dodd camp afterwards, who were convinced it was a legitimate knockdown.

Cardle had a cut eye from the eighth round, but battled on regardless.

The Gazette's card. for what it is worth judged Cardle the winner by two rounds on a night of heated debate over the outcome, which will rage for some time.